Logo: "Making Waves One Ripple at a Time"Winning Hands Massage

home page link biography page link treatment page link recommendations page link writing page link

Energy Medicine – Eastern and Western Perspectives


By contrast, the Indian or Ayuervedic traditions focus more on the Chakras. Reference is made to the meridians, but the primary focus tends to be the Chakras.

There are seven major and multiple minor Chakras. The major Chakras are the Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye and Crown. As with the meridians, Chakras are also associated with principle organs or glands. Starting with the 1st or Root Chakra, these would be the Adrenals, Ovaries/Testes, Pancreas, Thymus, Thyroid/Parathyroid, Pituitary, and Pineal. Probably the most important Chakra after the seven major Chakras is the Palm Chakra in the palms of the hands. There are actually minor Chakras in every joint in the body, shoulders, elbows, knees, ankles, wrists, etc. There is also a Chakra associated with the sole of the foot, but unlike the palm Chakra which is in the actual palm, the sole/foot Chakra is actually 18 inches BELOW the foot. And as with meridians, there are extra Chakra “pieces” or components. These include the Transverse and Motor Spiral energy lines. Where the energy flow in the meridians is basically longitudinal, energy flow in the Chakras is circular around the central point of the Chakra. There are three main “currents” that run longitudinally (called Long Line Currents), wrapping around the body (called the Transverse Current), and in a spiral moving out and around from the navel, in a widening pattern (called the Spiral Current). And finally, there are what are known as the Motor Ovals and Motor Spirals.

Home Page | Mike's Biography and Training | Treatment Information | Mike's Recommendations | Mike's Writing

(c) 2005-2007 Mike Uggen,
Phone: (317) 297-7263
Cell: (317) 508-8556
WA License Number 16912

Web Design by Barbara Uggen-Davis